Med schools to roll out OBC quota

16 Of 17 Institutes To Fully Implement Reservation By End Of Next Year

New Delhi: All the 17 central government-run medical institutes in the country have decided to implement OBC reservations from this year.
While Vardhman Mahavir Medical College (VMMC) at Safdarjung Hospital has decided to implement the 27% OBC quota in one go, the other 16, including five from the north-east, will achieve it by end of next year.
AIIMS, PGI Chandigarh, Lady Hardinge, JIPMER, Ram Manohar Lohia Hospital and National Institute of Health and Family Welfare are among the institutes which will implement the quota in a phased manner.
In some courses, they will increase seats by 9% annually. Officials hope to increase 17% of the quota seats by this year-end and 10% by the end of 2009.
This decision was taken in a quota review meeting between health minister A Ramadoss, health ministry officials and the institute heads on Thursday. Ramadoss has asked all the institutes to submit their infrastructural requirements to the Expenditure Finance Committee by April 25.
The ministry has decided to go ahead with the seat increase for both MBBS and post-graduate courses.
Health secretary Naresh Dayal told TOI, “The increase in reserved seats to accommodate 24% quota for OBCs will be implemented from this year. However, it will be in a staggered manner depending on capacity and infrastructure availability of various institutes.” An official said, “We have asked the institutes to submit the requirement of faculty and support staff to EFC for approval.”
IIT-Kanpur increases
seats to 622 from 550
Kanpur: The number of seats for BTech courses at Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur will be increased to 622 from 550 this year to accommodate OBC candidates.
The three new IITs in Bihar, Rajasthan and Andhra Pradesh, will implement 27% reservation from this year.
“Seventytwo seats each will be increased in the next two years taking the total number of increased seats to 216 in three years,’’ said IITKanpur’s assistant registrar Professor K V Satyamurty.
IIT-Kanpur director Prof S G Dhande said that the retirement age of faculty members has been increased from 62 to 65 due to increase in seats. TNN